A Tale of Two Nappy Creams

It’s taken me a while to cotton on to the new nappy cream beauty secret, and I have Mrs Strawberry Blonde (https://mrsstrawberryblonde.wordpress.com) to thank for the realisation – thank you, Mrs SB! The rest of you probably know this already but, if you don’t, then nappy cream is absolutely ideal for clearing up spots and acne, and soothing blemishes.

That said, my journey towards Spot-Free Heaven has proved a little tricky as the first product I picked up to try was Weleda Calendula Nappy Change Cream:

Calendula nappy change cream

I tried – oh, how I tried! – and at first it actually seemed to be doing some good. I don’t wear it as a mask at all as I understand that doing so ends up making the skin worse – so I’ve just been putting it on my spots. Like all nappy creams (apparently) it doesn’t sink into the skin without some persuasion – but oh the smell is really truly horrid, I have to warn you! Those of you born and brought up in the countryside will no doubt remember well the terrible and distinctive smell a dying bird caught in the wall of an old house makes. The smell of Calendula is very much like this, but distilled and sweeter. Yuk! Honestly, I have no idea how the poor babies cope. I gave up on this one in the end.

Determined to have another go, I turned to the truly wonderful Sudocrem Antiseptic Healing Cream – for nappy rash, eczema, surface wounds, sunburn, minor burns, acne, and chilblains.

Sudocrem

Now this one is the Real McCoy for me! I’m telling you my skin gave a sigh of relief the moment I put it onto my skin – though actually after the Weleda one, anything would be a relief! – and it’s been sorting my spots out pretty darn well ever since. Today, I think I even  looked presentable in public, hurrah! The smell is light, pleasant and somehow reassuring, and it also melts into the skin a little easier too – though not as well as non-nappy creams of course.

So, I’m ditching the Weleda one and putting all my hope into Sudocrem – thank you once more, Mrs SB!

Anne Brooke

 

 

4 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Nappy Creams

  1. Mrs Strawberry Blonde September 2, 2016 / 2:36 am

    Thank you for the mention. I’m blushing! xx

    I’m so glad that Sudocrem seems to work for you too. Seriously, I couldn’t be happier to for you.

    I hope it will continue to work and it will sort out your skin. Nappy rash creams (Sudocrem and Superdrug’s own brand) have done wonders for my skin too.

    Sorry, I’m only commenting now. I’ve only realised that I hadn’t left the reply when my Firefox crashed and I had to reload all the tabs.

    Again, I’m sooooo happy Sudocrem works for you too! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • annebrooke September 2, 2016 / 6:11 am

      Thank you, Mrs SB! 🙂 Sorry to hear about Firefox – hope it behaves now! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Mrs Strawberry Blonde September 2, 2016 / 11:21 am

        For now it does. But it always seems to crash when you least expect it.

        Like

  2. annebrooke September 2, 2016 / 11:49 am

    Those foxes, they’re very tricky, Mrs SB!! ==:O

    Like

Leave a Reply

