Salt and Mud

30-october-2016

Only one picture this week as I basically like all the products I’ve used, hurrah!

First off is the good old Epsom Salts – I know this is something your granny used to use, but honestly, they’re brilliant. Really good for detoxing if you put them in the bath and there’s no weird smell or anything so you wouldn’t know you have them in there at all! The HSL one is only £9.49 for 3kg at Amazon if you’re a Prime Member (£10.99 if you’re not) and also comes with a really handy scoop so I love this. I use one scoop in all my baths but you can easily use a couple if you want to. I’ve also just bought the WestLab Epsom Salts and am about to start these – they’re £4.85 for 1kg so not as great a bargain but I thought I’d give it a go. I’ve put them into the HSL container with the scoop to make it easier to add them to the bath. Actually, if you really want to go cheap, then just pick up any pack of Epsom Salts at your local garden centre – so cheap!! – and you’re laughing. They do exactly the same detox thing.

I’ve always a total pushover for the Montagne Jeunesse face masks (supposed to be single use but I make them last for 2 facials and there’s no problem). The two I’ve used this week are the Cucumber Peel-off – every beauty blogger I’ve read seems to dislike this because of the strong smell, but it didn’t bother me though it’s definitely more lime than cucumber. I liked the colour of it too, and it peeled off with no issues. My skin felt very cleansed without being dry afterwards, so give it a go if you’d like to. You can get a pack of 6 masks for £5.00 at Amazon which is great. My favourite mask this week though is the Aloe Vera Blemish Mud which is just fantastic for congested skin and very calming. I will definitely get this one again. Again, they are £5 for 6 masks  at Amazon.

I can’t praise 4160 Tuesday’s Pillow Talk perfume highly enough – I really LOVE this stuff even though it’s definitely not cheap. It’s £15 for a handbag-sized atomiser and just so gorgeous a scent. A real treat for the evenings when you want to feel special!

Imperial Leather Summer Sunrise Hand Wash is a wonderful mix of shea butter and honeysuckle and makes summer last that little bit longer. It doesn’t dry the skin out either which is great. It seems to have gone out of stock at the moment which is a shame though I have provided a link to Amazon for you above. I hope they bring it back next summer as I really like this one!

I’ve blogged about the Body Shop Pink Grapefruit Hand Cream before – as it’s just so good on my feet (less so on the hands!) and I’m into grapefruit as a super-food & beauty product at the moment. It’s still £4 for 30ml which is just stupid prices, but I do enjoy using it – very invigorating for my morning feet.

Boots Botanics Rosewater Toning Spritz feels lovely on my face, and rosewater is just so good for the skin! Plus the smell isn’t too overpowering, though I do really love rose products so I wouldn’t mind if it was, LOL. This is only £4.00 for 150ml so a LOT cheaper than other facial sprays currently on the market. I’m restocking this one for sure.

Ravensara Essential Oil is a must if you suffer from any kind of catarrh or sinusitis problems – I blend mine with sweet almond oil and grapefruit oil for using on my feet at night and also sweep it across my cheeks and neck in the morning – and it’s really amazing! I’ve already ordered a new bottle from Amazon – there are loads on there but the cheapest is £3.95 for 10ml. For me, it’s worth every penny.

Finally, I’ve just started taking one-a-day of High Strength 15mg zinc tablets from Simply Supplements, and I’m convinced it clears my skin brilliantly – plus of course keeping colds at bay over winter, hurrah! I’m trying some 10mg tablets from Boots at the moment, but I suspect I’ll go back to the Simply Supplements ones after that. They are £6.80 for 60 tablets. I love them!

Anne Brooke Books

 

2 thoughts on “Salt and Mud

  1. kathylcsw October 30, 2016 / 6:23 pm

    I recently started using a Rosewater spray in the morning and at night under my moisturizer.

    Liked by 1 person

    • annebrooke October 30, 2016 / 7:37 pm

      How lovely, Kathy – it’s so refreshing! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

