Scents and Sensitivity

26-november-nice

Lots of products to love this week, hurrah! It’s not a beauty product as such but Beconase Nasal Spray stops me snorting like an old horse and wanting to gag all the time (ah, the joys of throat sinusitis are so many and glorious that I couldn’t possibly recount them all here, LOL!) so it’s a health & beauty necessity in my book. IĀ have to have mineĀ on prescription from the doctor, but other nasal sprays can be found in all good chemists and and are also very good at stopping The Beast (as I like to call it). Just try to balance it out with the inevitable nosebleeds and if you’re a serious sinusitis sufferer (yes, you know if you are – all those nights being unable to sleep and being sick all the time will give you the clue …), then try my short guide to coping with the worst of the effects, Atishoo and Bless You! The ABC of Mucus ManagementĀ – only 99p for your Kindle! Advert over, phew …

4160Tuesdays are my go-to perfume provider for special occasions – and I try to mop up their products whenever they have a sale on. They’re not cheap but they last a good long time and people always comment on how nice they are. They also have some FABULOUS names for their scents – the handbag sized one above is The Sexiest Scent on the Planet Ever (IMHO) and it’s perfect for both day and evening wear. Their description calls it “smooth, soft and seductive – lemon meringue pie, blended with velvety woods. Really.” And I can’t argue with that, LOL. The 9ml handbag size ones are Ā£15.00, but they send small samples with their parcels, so an added bonus.

This week, I ventured into TK Maxx for the first time in a long time – I always get depressed and confused when I try to shop there so have given it a miss for a while. However, I hadn’t realised they did discount beauty products as well, so ventured in one lunchtime and collected a small stash. The Cettua Clean & Simple Anti-Redness Mask for Sensitive Skin was only Ā£2.00, down from Ā£4.99, so a total bargain. It’s a sheet mask but I managed okay with it and it’s definitely very calming and reduces the redness. What more can you want? If I see it again, I’ll pick up another one,Ā and am definitely tempted by the link above which goes to the Beauty Spin site – there it costs Ā£2.60, so not bad.

I totally LURVE the Max Factor CC Cream in Fair as it just gives my skin a second wind and an added glow when I redo my face for the evenings. I’ll be buying some more when I run out of CC cream again, but I’ve got others lined up in my over-stuffed bathroom cabinet to try out so I’ll leave it for a bit. At Amazon it’s Ā£4.80 for 30ml, which is great news.

The Eucerin Dermo Purifyer Cleanser is very goodĀ for sensitive spot-prone skin like mine and I’ve been using it for a while. It doesn’t dry my skin out either, hurrah! I’ve got another back up which I’ve started, but I’m also trying out other stuff so am seeing how I go with everything before repurchasing the next in the line. If you see what I mean! It’s Ā£9.50 for 200ml at Boots, but there’s a 3-for-2 offer on selected Boots expert skincareĀ products at the moment and they’re well worth a go. Have fun!

Finally, in this section, I have to expound the virtues of the Sensodyne Pronamel Gentle Whitening toothpaste – it’s brilliant for people such as myself who have enamel problems (my father was an apple farmer and it’s now known that apples attack the enamel of teeth if you eat too manyĀ of them. My dears, as I lived on an apple farm for the first eleven years of my life, you can imagine how many apples – in all sorts of disguises! – have come my way!!). This toothpaste also keeps my front teeth white and is good for my delicate sensibilities too. I use it once a day in the morning, and have other similar toothpaste for the evenings. I like to mix and match for a healthy mouth! At the moment, it’s Ā£3.00 for 75ml at Boots as they have a one-third discount on. Shop early shop often and wake up to beautiful teeth!

However, in the midst of all this beauty joy and happiness, we have one lonely and surprising dud, alas!

26-november-not-nice

The Boots No 7 range is one I tend to rely on in many areas, but this No 7 Restore and Renew Foundation has proved very disappointing indeed, oh dear me. It can’t be just me either because, as you can see, it’s been discontinued and you can’t get it anywhere. Probably a good thing. Anyway, as you can tellĀ if you look closely at the above picture, the actual contents are only about one-third of the volume of the bottleĀ they come in. One third!!! Do they think we’re idiots or something??? Why not just put the pesky product in a smaller jar instead of wasting all that plastic?!? Badly done, Boots No 7, badly done … To add to my rant, it’s not a very good foundation either – rather too runny and feeble for my tastes, and covers nothing that you want it to cover. I’m glad it’s finished and – you guessed it! – I won’t be buying it again, should it ever have the temerity to become available, ha!

Anyway, have a lovely weekend, and keep beautiful!

Anne Brooke Books

2 thoughts on “Scents and Sensitivity

  1. Mrs Strawberry Blonde November 27, 2016 / 2:12 pm

    That MF CC Cream sounds great. I have an Olay cream with a ‘touch of MF foundation’. I can’t wait to use it!

    But how bad is that Boots foundation? Ridiculous. Good to hear it’s been discontinued.

    I have enamel issues too! I’ve never really likes apples, but I’m addicted to grapefruits – and they’re just as bad for teeth. A couple of years ago I had fillings to ‘cover up’ the lack of enamel on a few teeth – and it was sooo worth it! Flossing became much easier (and it felt less dangerous… you know what I mean). And hot and cold food and drinks have been much more enjoyable since.

    Liked by 1 person

    • annebrooke November 27, 2016 / 2:25 pm

      Gosh, I never knew that about grapefruit! But I suppose they are acidic so it makes sense. Glad your fillings worked! Ooh, and the Olay cream with the MF foundation sounds amazing – look forward to hearing what you think of it! šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

