Nail polish niggles

I have to admit to blowing hot and cold over nail polish. I’m totally rubbish at doing it myself and the couple of times I’ve given myself a treat and gone to a nail bar, it’s always chipped within 5 mins of leaving, sob – which is HUGELY infuriating, I must say.

Anyway, in my Middle-Aged Woman attempt to be more feminine, I’ve started using nail polish once a week at the weekends. I was inspired to do so as one of my friends bought me a fun size nail polish for Christmas (thank you, Liz!) which is really the perfect colour for me – nude with a very slight dusky pink tinge. I don’t really know what it is but it’s got HD on the bottle and the very small writing at the bottom says Amelia Knight – but apart from that I am totally ignorant – as usual, eh!

Since starting to use this polish, I’ve bought 3 or 4 others, but they’ve all been truly awful – too pink or just too loud – so I’ve had to get rid of them, double sob. I’d really love a nude nail polish that only needs one coat, but I’m a nail ignoramus so I have no idea what to buy.

rimmel ultra shine top coat nail polish

Anyway, I also found an old Rimmel Finishing Touch Ultra Shine polish in the cupboard which I must have had for aeons but still seems perfectly serviceable – it adds a lovely glimmer to my nails and sets the H&D fun size colour off to perfection.

So I’m really happy with the combination at the moment, but am dreading finishing my Christmas gift bottle as I have nothing to replace it with. I will still use the shiny top coat but it’s not quite the same. Oh well.

Anne Brooke Books

Leave a comment